6c456035-c1f2-4bf0-bb59-9d35f91f6260.jpg

Liz’s debut novel, The Phantom Forest, is a fantasy thriller geared toward young adults. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, The Hazel Wood, and the films of Hayao Miyazaki, the book will be released on July 16th, 2019. It is currently available to pre-order from all major retailers including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, and the Inkshares website. You can also add the book to your Goodreads TBR.

Galley copies are available via NetGalley for reviewers, educators, and librarians.

Please scroll to the bottom for spoiler-free content warnings.

SYNOPSIS

Every tree in the sacred Forest of Laida houses a soul. Though each of those souls will return to the mortal world for many future lives, not all of them deserve to. 

Seycia's father told her this story as a child―a story of the most holy place in the Underworld, The Forest of Laida, where all souls go to rest before embarking on a new life. But Seycia's father is dead now, and his killer has put a target on her back. After being chosen for her village's human sacrifice ritual, Seycia is transported to the Underworld and must join forces with Haben, the demon to whom she was sacrificed. Together, they journey to the forest in the Underworld where all souls grow, in a quest to destroy the tree of the man who killed her.

Instantly gripping with poetic prose that sets a truly haunting mood for the reader. The world Kerin crafted is so intricately disturbing, like a car wreck that we cannot look away from.
— Reader Voracious Blog
This book has a slow-burning plot-line that was obviously incredibly well thought out. The descriptions were so amazing, and the pictures conjured in my mind were so realistic and full of detail, I had to pause from time to time, just to let it all sink in… The characters were fascinating, the world dark and atmospheric, and the story itself went in completely unexpected directions. I highly recommend this book if you like your fantasy gritty and rich in detail.
— Witty & Sarcastic Book Club Blog
Like nothing else you’ve read. Super dark, more than a fantasy, a world that blurs the lines between the unreal and the all-too-real.
— -Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library
The Phantom Forest has a bit of every good fantasy story weaved into it – Gods/Goddesses, a post-apocalyptic setting, evil overlords, premonitions of the future, and a brave heroine to tie everything together. The dark and haunting mood sets this story about the nature of humanity and what we’d do for love apart.
— Read by Dev Blog

SPOILER-FREE CONTENT WARNINGS

This book is recommended for readers 13+

  • Ritual human sacrifice

  • Suicidal ideation

  • Metaphors about disordered eating

  • Brief threat of sexual violence

  • Cannibalism

  • Child abduction

  • Genocide

  • Dead parents

  • Gun violence